Announcement

Collapse

Critical Announcement

With great regret, we would like to inform you that the decision has been made to close down www.GraphicDesignForum.com as of January 31, 2018.

The community has started www.GraphicDesignForum.org to continue the discussion.
See more
See less

Possible scams or legit clients how can you tell?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Possible scams or legit clients how can you tell?

Hello, I am pretty new to freelancing I worked for a firm for 20 years but I never dealt with the payment part of it and we had people that ran credit checks with the clients and were all verified businesses. but this was years ago and things have changed.

With a website in this digital age its not uncommon to get a request from someone across the country. I recently received a request for a website from someone across the country. He had a good size budget and wanted a site built and wanted a maintenance plan and was eager to pay for the whole package and a year of hosting with Squarespace. Something about the responses were a little fishy he had an avatar to his email account of an older white male. I looked up the name and it did come up with the image but there were no contact details.

He had asked for all my info like phone number and I gave it to him and I asked for his he gave me a number and time to call which was early in the AM I could not make that call but called him later and got a google message so it was a google phone number, not an actual phone number. Not really a big deal but I asked for him to call me and he did he had a strong foreign accent I almost could not understand him. Very unlikely the person in the avatar photo.

That's really odd, right? I told him I was just a small freelancer and could not handle being responsible for that amount of money which was the truth.