Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Organising Files and Folders

Hi All

I'm curious as to what sort of systems other people are using to keep their jobs organised. I've been using the following for a few years and find it useful:

>denotes folder

Job No. + Title Folder containing
    >Quark/Indesign File
    >Photoshop (all PSDs, EPSs, TIFFs etc)
    >Illustrator (all Vector Files AIs, EPSs)
    >Supplied (all text or instructions from the client)
    >PDFs (all the PDF proofs broken down onto folders called 1st Proof, 2nd Proof and so on.)
    >FA or To Print Folder (collected artwork/PDF)

I have come across a lot of people who have no apparent organisation to their files and I always find it very difficult to to navigate their files and find what I'm looking for. Has anyone else had this problem are am I a total pedant?

As I said Im just curious as to what other people do/think.

Thanks

I'm very organized. I keep all my files in a nice organized clump on my desktop. SO I can see them at all times.

j/k, I only have 2 icons on my desktop. I hate desktop icons.
    In this post there are 47 people, none of them can be seen.

Comment

I tend to get a lot of repeat work from several main clients so I tend to organise by client, then project name, inside that its just a mess of image, photoshop, printers instructions, PDF etc files. The only thing I try to organise properly is invoices which I organise by saving under a reference (client and job number). Not the best but it suits my needs

Comment

Something few people realize is just how easy it is to create an empty default folder tree structure and simply drag/copy the whole tree to a new directory for instant organization on every new job.

Comment

We are alphabetical.

Work folder
          Folders titled: A, B, C etc.
          Folders titled with: Company/product name
          Folders titled with: Job title and any relevant files.