X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• CD Label Making-Getting Clear Background

I'm extremely new to Photoshop and cover design, so I know mos people on this will probably find this question a joke. So if you seriously know, please let me know...

I usually see on most CDs, the artwork has like a clear background... Not a color, but it looks to be the original (color) of the CD itself... I was wondering how one can make a CD label so that can be the background. Whenever I use templates and stuff for the CD label it's always a white background.. But that's not what I want. I'm not very good at explaining this but if you know what I mean, please reply.

You need a special printer that will print directly onto the CD's. With conventional printers, you're printing on paper, which of course, would not be clear.
    "Lucy, you got some 'splainin' to do!" - Ricky Ricardo

Comment

Are you bulk ordering these or printing them at home?

If you are going through an actual printer/manufacturer then you can order them as a white flood (that means white background on cd before printing it) or without. Without the white flood, the cd would have silver showing through the blank areas.
      You're no longer a child when a mud puddle is an obstacle rather than an opportunity!

Comment

Originally posted by cornfed
        Are you bulk ordering these or printing them at home?

If you are going through an actual printer/manufacturer then you can order them as a white flood (that means white background on cd before printing it) or without. Without the white flood, the cd would have silver showing through the blank areas.
        i'm getting them manufactured pro.. but my question is.. how do i make the artwork on the actual CD in such a way that there are blank areas.. because when i use a template there's already a white background

Comment