X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Pantone Printing Process, Please Explain

I've been a designer for a while but have never asked any people on the printer side of the industry how pantone inks work within the printer. I'm assuming there are specific formulas that are mixed for each swatch (similar to how they mix wall paint at the hardware store). I know that's the principle behind CKMY, but maybe they do it in a similar fashion. I just can't fathom an individual cartridge for so many spot colors.

I've always thought that each pantone color got its own plate. This makes sense, but how is the ink rendered? Its is a mix that is only applied to that plate? Maybe I have the whole picture wrong.

Any explainations or links would be helpful. Thanks.
    Broke or just cheap? Read my list of free open source alternatives to Adobe Creative Suite software.

I think the problem is that you're picturing printing with spot colors as printing with inkjet or laser cartridges, when you need to be thinking more about paint.

When you get paint mixed at a hardware store, they start with a certain set of base colors, and they mix them together to get the bazillion colors you see in the paint sample books.

It's the same with Pantone spot colors. If you look at a Pantone Spot Color Formula Guide, it might say something like: PANTONE 1817 C: 16 pts PANTONE Red 032, 6 pts PANTONE Black. A printer will either mix the color themselves or order the ink they need, and then apply that ink to the press. Specifically, each color ink is applied using one plate on the press. If you create a job that's CMYK plus one spot, there will be 5 plates. If you print a three spot color job, there will be three plates, each with its own color ink.

Does that help at all?
    Last edited by The_Black_Knight; 10-01-2006, 03:08 AM.

Comment