X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Buisness plan

Hi all i'm a graphic design student at loughborough and have to do a buisness plan for a new company. My group were looking to create a new design community mainly based on the internet but then would move to a studio based. If possible could you copy and fill out the questions this would be awesome:
    - Are you linked to any design communitties such as YCN or Designers are wankers?

- Would you enter live competition briefs linked to industry work?

- Would you pay to join?

- Would you use the site to chat to other designers?

- Would you comment on other peoples work?

- Would you look at annual publications of work?

How would you go from an online community that could potentially be worldwide to a studio environment? Other than charging your members to join this 'collaborative' (and I'm not sure YCN or DAW, or even GDF for that matter, qualify as collaboratives) what is the focus of your 'business'?

1. GDF
    2. No, not looking for fake briefs.
    3. Definitely NOT.
    4. GDF
    5. Only leads to fights and hard feelings. Check out our Showcase here for example.
    6. What kind of work? Design is such a wide field the annual would have to have a focus. No focus, no interest (well, I might not be interested in the focus either.)

Comment

- Are you linked to any design communitties such as YCN or Designers are wankers? I have never heard of YCN or Designers are Wankers. I am active here on Graphic Design Forum and 1 local community creative site that I have little to do with any more. I joined the local site in hopes of getting work, but unfortunately, the only people that frequent that site are other designers (not clients). This is an important point when starting up a community for designers to get work. You should have enough clients for your designers. Therefore you need to advertise to clients just as vigourously or more than you advertise to creatives.