Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• InDesign place - PSD or PDF

Hi,

I am fairly new to InDesign and just have a quick query with regards to placing images into InDesign. Is it better to place to original .PSD files or .PDF files? Does placing a .PDF affect the quality of the image? Basically what I have been doing is opening my images in Photoshop - resizing/cropping them to the correct size and saving them as .PSD files then placing that file in my InDesign document, the only problem I have encounterred so far is that when sending my work to the printers my files are huge because all the .PSD files have to be included for links. Can I save my images as .PDF's in Photoshop then place them in InDesign? I assume a .PDF will be a lot smaller than a .PSD file? Hope this makes sense!

Thanks.
    We must travel in the direction of our fears.

A lot would depend on the image, as well as how you save the PDF to be placed.

If you have weird transparencies to contend with (alpha channels, etc), I'd recommend a .psd file. If its just a flat PDF with no crazy spot channels or transparencies, a properly saved PDF should work just fine.

There's really a lot of variables to contend with when deciding what image format: CMYK color, spot inks, alpha channels, clipping paths, etc.

Comment

Make the image a tif if its cmyk.

Comment

My printers say they would like all images/scans at 300ppi cmyk colour, I take it I just file>save as>.tiff>no compression??

Cheers

Comment

TIFF is what I do for 99% of my raster based images. CMYK, 300dpi at intended printed size, no compression.

Comment

If your printing digital the resolution needs to be at least 150dpi. If your printing offset then it must be at least 300dpi. Thats another way you can conserve space.

Comment

Cheers ears! I have asked another probably stupid question in a new thread if you wana have a look.

Comment