Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Crowdsourcing Logo website?

Hi everyone,

I was considering trying to crowdsource a logo design. I have never done it before, but I heard a presenter at an entrepreneurship conference talk about their good experiences.

When I looked online the most popular ones seem to be 99designs and crowdspring.

I was wondering what the design community thinks of these? Do you all think they are good website, and if you do, which one is your favorite?

Thanks everyone.
    Last edited by garricks; 05-29-2010, 10:52 PM. Reason: spec work links removed.

Ken, for the most part you'lll find the members of this forum against crowdsourcing. You're asking a lot of people to put in time working, when only one will be paid for the work.

Try reading this link: http://www.no-spec.com/
    This post is brought to you by the letter E and the number 9. Those are the buttons I push to get a Twix out of the candy machine.
    "I put my heart and my soul into my work, and have lost my mind in the process."

Comment

I do no like crowd sourcing.

Graphic design should be a natural process and open communication between client and designer. Clients should choose designers based on their strong portfolio. Crowd sourcing ignores a designer's portfolio, disregards the time spent on solutions and does not consult the client or their target market. How can you design a good logo without proper consultation?! You can't!

Giving a client many solutions to choose from takes all responsibility away from the designer/s and puts it into a client's non educated hands. What criteria do clients choose logos by? Do they know anything about readibility, industry, print specification, colour theory etc? Probably not. That's what they hire a designer to know.