X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• sending Quark files to LaserRed

HI all! I work in a small print shop and we usually work in InDesign CS but have a customer who is using Quark 4.1. I am having problems with their files.

In the past I open these files up in InDesign and send them to the LaserRed from there. The last time I did this, the font was messed up. I had turned the font to Outlines, but on the film, the font changed to a different font. This time we sent to film directly from Quark (5). I don't use Quark but found a tutorial that said I needed to export the file as eps, open in Illustrator and change fonts to outlines and this is what I did. Everything looked fine on my computer, but when ripped on the LaserRed software, the font had all been changed to Italics.

Could anyone please give advice on how to prepare and send Quark files to press? Also, why is the font changing?

I am somewhat new to printing and prepress and any help that can be given will be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Sounds like the italics happened in opening in Illy. Did you load the client fonts?
    If you work in a printshop use the application that the client sent you. Do not try to convert of you will be forever giving customers breaks on bad file conversions.

Quirk job sent, print from quirk.....
    It's not about the world of design.
    It's about the design of the world.
    Massive Change

Comment