X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Color Separation For Screenprinting_illustrator

hello everybody. i am soooo glad that i found this website -while i am actually supposed to be listening to my maya class. for reasons that would be too long to explain i currently have to do separations for screenprinting. and i don't mean "print out" the separations from my illustrator files, but add pages to my illustrator files to give to the people who are going to do the screenprinting. needless to say they are in china. well, i am totally new to this "need for separation in illustrator files", but if i have to do it i want to learn how to do it right. i could question why they want me to do it... but most of the time this ends in incomprehensible conversations. so, here is how i do it now: i take my illustrator image that i have in my illustrator file and i click on every color, grouping the colors and converting them in pms colors, when necessary. it looks stupid to me, but i haven't found anybody who could explain to me what i am doing, why i am suppposed to do this, and how to do this right. notice: the chinese people never complained, if i do it this way. it seems to be what they want... go figure.
    i am absolutely willing to learn this, and i have already learned so much by reading other threads. could anyone help me, please????

UH_OH!! Teacher mode!!!!

It works better if you change all the current colors to spot colors and tints thereof. That way the colors stay the same. the reason this works is that when the printers get it, they can go into the print menus and click which colors they want to print. like say you have this image (one of mine)