Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• CRT vs. LCD for Print Design!?

Hello.

Recently been in the market for a new display as my Sony G520 (21" CRT) is about to go up.

I'm a graphic designer of 12 years and have ONLY used CRT monitors for my work. I've been questioning whether to get a new Apple 23" Cinema display vs. a new .20 dot pinch CRT.

The cost is obvious a factor as a CRT is around $430 and the Cinema display is around $1300. But more importantly than ANYTHING ELSE is the ability to see the FINEST of DETAILS and COLOR ACCURACY FOR PRESS PRINTED MATERIAL ON SCREEN!! I can'ty stress that enough because anybody I talk to who is an LCD advocate is NOT in the same feild as I am and really does not have the need for color accurancy or detail as I do in the graphics feild.

So PLEASE... any designers out there who are in the same boat... which is the better option. The Apple 23" display... or a tried and proven CRT?

Thanks.

I purchased CRT because of color for printing.
    WYSIWYG

Comment

What was the specifics behind it? Did you compare the two (i.e. do some tests to see which was more accurate). What's the reasoning behind it?

I want to stay away from the stigma that 'I've used CRT all my life and I'm stubborn and won't change'... because really I think that's not a great attitude. Not saying you are. But I myself have that attitude and I want to let the facts lead me to the right decision as opposed to lack of enthusiasm to get with the times.

My concerns are:

a.) not sure that LCD's (even Apple's wonderful cinema displays) can give me the level of detail I can get with a CRT.

b.) not sure that LCD's (even Apple's wonderful cinema displays) can give me the level of color accuracy I can get with a CRT.