X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• printing metallic pantone color

My client has provided me with 2 metallic pantone colors that they want included in the illustrations i drew in illustrator cs. The pantone metallic colors will be highlights of certain objects such as jewels and beads.

My question is how can i properly prepare this for the printer so that it will turn out right. I have heard that there are numerous problems printing with metallic colors and i just want to make sure i am doing this correctly. Can i just select a part of the jewel and make it the pantone color provided? and the rest being in cmyk? any help will be great as I have little knowledge in printing.

call your printer they are all diferent

Comment

Just make sure that the metallic is spected as spot not process everywhere in your document-- including Illy files, Quark, Indesign ect. Make sure the spot color is called the same thing in each program you use. For example--Pantone 875 C, Pantone 875 CV, Pantone 875 CVC. Call them the same. Output color seperated lasers to see how it seperates, after all that's what printers do--seperate! Trapping is the issue with printers and metallics. Do not trap it, let the printers do that. As rockem stated, give them a call about it. If they say you should trap it--find another printer!!
      WYSIWYG

Comment

Originally posted by jimking