Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Color accurate proof

Hello everyone,
    I have been setting up files to send to printers for 4 years now for projects like brochures, marketing collateral, packaging, labels and other small format items. I am the only designer working here and have now been asked to design a three panel show booth, which is going to be printed in Europe (I am in the USA). I received the specs from the printing company this morning from one of our sales reps(that is a problem in and of itself, but not relevant to this). All of the specs seem normal to me except one, which is why I am writing this. The printer wants me to send them a "color accurate print proof" which is somthing I have never been asked to provide before. Each panel is about 26" X 90" and will be printed in 4 color process. I can not think of a way to get color accurate printer proofs other than sending the files to a printer. Is there another way? I am going to try to get in touch with the printer (if it was in the US I would have just done that and not written this), but for now does anyone have any advice?
    I could give you a dose
    but it would never come close
    to the rage built up inside of me
    fist in the air in the land of hypocrisy

If you can contact the printer, I'd ask them if they REALLY need that. Or if they do, see if they'll accept an 11x17 reduction of the file printed and then go somehwere that will create a match print or color proof.

Comment

they just want a small sample of what you think the print should look like. IF color is not a big deal print a sample and send it to them, if it is spend time on tweaking the color the way you want it, so when they start printing they will match to your proof

Comment