Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Is Canva adequate for designing brochures for print?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Is Canva adequate for designing brochures for print?

Hello! I am totally new to graphic design and have been asked to design new brochures at work. Canva is the only tool I can use for this at present, I have started learning Adobe CC.

I am concerned about the final quality of the brochures when they go to print. Does anyone have experience using Canva for this purpose and what was the result?

Thanks!

Hi Berta and welcome to GDF.

I've never heard of Canva, sorry. Maybe someone else will chime in.

We ask all new members to read very important links here and here. These explain the rules, how the forum runs and a few inside jokes. No, you haven't done anything wrong, we ask every new member to read them. Your first few posts will be moderated, so don't panic if they don't show up immediately. Enjoy your stay.
    Sketching not only helps you work out good ideas, it helps you get past the bad ones.

Comment

I had never heard of Canva until your post prompted me to have a look. The "amazingly simple" drag/drop, touchscreen interface is nicely demonstrated, and plenty of printed-material templates are presented, ostensibly geared for business purposes, creating the impression that the app is a viable tool for producing production-worthy, print-destined design. But frankly I am quite skeptical on several levels.
      • Print design can get very messy in the hands of the untrained, efficacy of the tools notwithstanding. And so, being "totally new to graphic design," I expect you'll make critical, and potentially costly, mistakes regardless of whether Canva facilitates the production of print-worthy files.
      • From a technical standpoint, software tools capable of producing real-world design cannot be "amazingly simple." That very notion is rather self-contradicting.