Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Poster printing - A0 size

Hi all,

I have designed this poster using stock photography and overlayed a grungy vector texture on top of the image. The image has also been desaturated with only subtle colour coming through in the background. It's only for personal use and I am planning on getting it block mounted as well. It's my first time doing a large format print, so I'm hoping someone could give me a heads up on a few things.

Firstly, the image dimensions are 6652 x 4365 at 300ppi, and as I want to get this printed at A0 size I'm wondering if this is a good enough quality to send off to the printer? The text and grunge texture are vectorised so I'm also wondering if there's anything I need to be careful of as far as printing a rasterised image with vector elements?

Lastly, what would be the correct colour mode/document profile to send this out in? The image has been edited with layer styles and it contains some transparency so I want to make sure the colours come out fairly accurately and the black prints nicely.

Thanks,
    Sabrina

With any new print process that you've never used before, the best idea is to talk to your printer before you even begin designing.
    This is so you aren't designing in the wrong color space at the wrong resolution for your imagery.

Is the whole thing created in Photoslop? Text included?
    Ask your printer how they want to deal with a PS file with vector images. Most would take the layered photoshop file with the vector elements placed as smart objects, and text kept live (with fonts provided) but you have to be careful. A good shop will output this in a format that will preserve the vector art. Others may just flatten the whole thing into a .psd or .tif and print it all as raster.

In the world of large format 33" x 47" is actually pretty small.
    It sounds like you do not understand the relationship between inches and pixels.