Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Next steps

Hi all,

I am losing my mind and turning to you all to see if you might help me find som answers. I'm a photographer working on a marketing piece in indesign, converted to cmyk, and submitting it to a printer.

Here's the problem: I have gotten proofs back from 4 different printers and am not happy . My brochure is photo heavy, and I know the cmyk conversion will affect color shifting etc.. but none of the printers gave me, or even had to give me an icc profile. Does that seem strange? Should i from now only work with a printer that has one?

Secondly , i blew $300 in a rush with one of the printers because it was the best proof out of the 4. Then I did decide to hold off, and once I got the brochures home, was really unhappy with them. Even though I approved the proof, the brochure have a ton of noise in the photos (not evident on other print outs) not sure what that's all about, but overall I should have not approved the color/darkness of the photos. Am I SOL here ? They already hate me because I was rushing them and had so many questions haha, I'm so afraid to say anything and thinking of just eating the cost. 🙁 But it sucks,

Lastly, I spoke with one other guy who said I should look for a printer who uses an indigo printer, basically a digital offset . Does this sound like the best next step (assuming they actually have an icc profile they can provide?).

Thanks all, I appreciate any advice!

On the rush print job, If you approved the proof and the prints look like the proof, then you are SOL. The funny thing about some clients who are in a rush...they don't have the time to let the printer do the job right, but they seem to find the time to make them do it over.