Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help with PMS

Hi,

Need to print a banner with PMS colours. I'm designing this in InDesign and have already contacted and I need to send them the Pantone number.

Anyway, as it is my first time using the Pantone colours I would just like help understanding them.

How do I convert my colours from CMYK to get a PMS number in InDesign? The printer wasn't very specific and have said I just supply CMYK but previously the colours printed poorly with them so I am going to supply PMS. In that case, do I change the colour mode to spot in the Swatch Options? And under the Pantone options there are CMYK uncoated and coated. How do I know which to choose?
    or do I convert the colour to PMS in Illustrator then import it into InDesign?

Any help around this would be great.

Thanks.

In InDesign you open the Swatches Palette. In the tip down menu select New Color Swatch.
    For a banner you use Pantone + Solid Coated (not the CMYK options at the top of the menu.)
    Select the Pantone you want and add it to the color palette. It should come in as a spot and will probably have a LAB icon to the right of the spot.

In the color palette under the tip down menu, tell it to Add Unnamed Colors. Select the CMYK color you want to swap and hit the trash can. InD will ask what color you want to replace it with. Select your Pantone number.

Done.

Comment

I think they're asking how they go about picking the Pantone color to match the CMYK. Or seeing if there's a way to convert. The short answer is not really. I know PD knows much more about getting the best possible match, but the short answer is your best bet is to get a Pantone color book (or use your vendors) and find a Pantone color that best matches your CMYK breakdown.

N.A.N.K.A. "We Kick Because We Care."

Comment