Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

How to make a color proof (cromalin, approval or Iris)?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How to make a color proof (cromalin, approval or Iris)?

I'm designing an advertisement for a client on Photoshop and they have asked me to send them a color proof (cromalin, approval or Iris) via email.

I'm not very experienced when it comes to print design so I don't know what that is. Looking online I can see that it's related to prepress proofing, which I don't have any experience with. I'm pretty confused.

Can anybody help me with how I can make one? I would really appreciate it.

Thanks a lot!

Designing an ad in Photoshop???????

How is it being published?

Your client is asking for a chromalin or iris sent via email??? Those two things are hard copies - physical prints - and the terminology has sort of gone the way of the dinosaur.
    The approval, on the other hand could be a digital PDF...

There used to be places called Service Bureaus all over the place where you could get a color accurate target proof created in either ISO or G7 or some other certified system. I think you still can, but you have to know where to look, and I'm not in that end of the print business.

You do know you aren't supposed to be doing this design in Photoslop, right????
    That is wrong tool.
    Especially if it is being printed.
    Indesign, QuarkXpress, or even Illustrator are what you should be using, not Photoshop, and you should probably be using a spec sheet that tells you where to get job options to create a proper PDF handoff. Especially if the client has physical match prints in their boilerplate instructions (which, it sounds like, they haven't updated in years.)

Comment

Originally posted by greenman77 View Post
      I'm designing an advertisement for a client on Photoshop and they have asked me to send them a color proof (cromalin, approval or Iris) via email.