Getting a image ready for print

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Getting a image ready for print

I am still new to understanding how to send proper files for printing on vinyl. In the past I would send my artwork as a .png file in CMYK and as RGB but would still have colors that are slightly off. Example I sent a Camouflage design to two different print companies and both would have a slight whiteish overcast on the entire image and the browns would have a very slight purple tint to them. What could cause this or what would be the best way to make sure the colors I am using will come out closer to what is on screen?

I know every monitor is different and could make it seem that my colors are correct when they actually arenít. But Iíve pulled it up on several different monitors 4K TVs,iMac, MacBook, and Samsung curved monitors, and they all look the same.

For vinyl I'd recommend working in spot colours - buy a pantone book to get an idea of what the finished colour will be.
    The print department will also have a pantone book and will match to that colour.

"May your hats fly as high as your dreams"Michael Scott

Comment

Contact your print vendor.
      We can only guess here at the issue you might be having.
      Ask what profile you should be sending the files. While most will readily take a CMYK file, there are wrong CMYK profiles you can inadvertantly use. For the stuff we do, we like original creation RGB, but if the file is CMYK already, Converting to US Web coated SWOP V2 is what we use here (USA) As for RGB, if the file was ever CMYK, this is a useless endeavor. You've already lost your color gamut. But if it is an original RGB gamut file, from creation to handoff, tell your printer that, and have them apply their custom media profile to the art to get the best possible conversion.
      If the printer says, ''profile?'' run away.

Since I do this day in, day out, a couple of notes
      .png is not a handoff format for images.