X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Pms Spot Color Number

I am a student at Parsons and I need to figure out a spot color number for something to send to the printers. Since I am a student I do not have my pantone books yet, and I cannot figure out how to find this in illustrator.

Is there any way to get this without having a pantone book?

Below is the Pantone swatch I have from my illustrator library.

Thank you!!!
    Attached Files

What are you looking for? the DS pantone colors in Illy? Or the conversion of that to a coated PMS color?

I get PMS 5473 C when I look it up in PS. *shrugs*
    Professional Pixel Pusher Designing the world around you. | Working daily to reach 10,000 hours of practice.

Comment

Well

To be honest I am not completely sure.

I originally sent that swatch to the printer and he wrote back saying he needed the: "PMS Spot Color Number"

I think what you found was right!!!!! How did you find it?

Comment

Open the picture in PS, click on the color selector, select the color of it, open the color picker window, select the color libraries button, select the pantone book you want and it'll tell you the color.

Of course this is ONLY a guesstimate of the PMS number. When printed it could vary significantly if your not careful!
        Professional Pixel Pusher Designing the world around you. | Working daily to reach 10,000 hours of practice.

Comment

You don't have pantone books at your schools facility you can use? Hmm...yep i'd do what CK suggested then....

Though, when i did what CK did, I got Pantone 7474C which will give u a nice turquoise green-blue...

a match on my screen though, by eye...its close to a 7468 C...
          | Valerie |
          "Make sure the fortune that you seek is the fortune that you need"
          -Ben Harper

Comment