Collapse

X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• "Toothy" textured paper - what are my printing options?

Hi all, I'm a newbie having problems printing on a matte, textured paper. With my inkjet the images look great, but with a laser printer the color doesn't saturate the paper, so my images look splotchy. Unfortunately, I need to print on 11x17, and my inkjet doesn't take paper that size. Would offset printing solve this problem? I'd ask a professional printer, but sometimes I feel like they're more interested in getting my business than providing an honest answer. If you have any specific print companies you'd suggest (I'm in New York City), I'd greatly appreciate it! Oh, and this is for my portfolio, so I don't have that many pages.

Thank you in advance!

Offset prints on textured paper very well. But you need to make plates so you need to print thousands of your piece to make it worth the $$. It's not viable for a portfolio only piece.

As it's just a one off, find a place that does large format inket printing. It'll cost around $20-$50 a page. Do some ringing around for prices for printing onto textured paper and visit the shop and ask to see the quality of what they have printed on their machine before you part with your money. Some places will let you bring in your own paper to print on so also enquire about that when phone around.
    It is more fun to talk with someone who doesn't use long, difficult words but rather short, easy words like "What about lunch?" Winnie the Pooh

Comment