This topic is closed.
X
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Large Fabric Printing

Hi everyone! I'm new to GDF and design in general, and so I hope this question isn't too naive.
    I want to create a large tote bag with an original artwork covering the entire fabric.
    But I have no idea where to go for large-format textile printing? It isn't really that big - just over a square foot of polyester. But every print shop I've called refuses and will only print on T-shirts and apparel.

Is there any way to get large artwork printed onto a piece of fabric without the fuss?
    Any info or referrals would help so much. Thanks in advance.

- Denise

You want to find a printer who does dye sublimation onto fabrics. Someone who does fabric banners. Not a t-shirt printer.
    What state/country are you located? There are printers all over the US and Europe that do this. You are just looking in the wrong place.

FYI, it will cost you quite a bit for only a square foot of material. There is usually a minimum charge. You also have to use the fabrics they have in stock. You can't just walk in with a square foot of fabric.
    Last edited by PrintDriver; 02-18-2011, 06:24 AM.

Comment

A screen printing department should be able to do this for you. Look for sports related companies, as they'd do quite large flags and things for the sporting events.

"May your hats fly as high as your dreams"Michael Scott

Comment

I'm betting the artwork isn't appropriate for silk screening. Just a guess.

Comment

I used to do large format graphics for trade show booths, banner-stands, etc. and printed on fabric rolls with an HP larger format (60" wide) ink jet printer. This is simple and semi-inexpensive as it's just a glorified over-sized inkjet printer but they have pretty decent quality and the image only needs to about 120-150 dpi at final size.