Is there a way to do this?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Is there a way to do this?

So, instead of paying more that $5.00 for a color palette book, I'm making my own. I've started with an excel document, but now I've moved it to illustrator. So I want to make sure I don't have any repeating colors.

How would I make sure I don't have a single repeating color without writing down all the RGBs, CMYKs, and # first or with out gigot through each block and using the select similar appearance button.

I know this a bit odd and I can explain a little better if thats needed.
    I'm a sophomore in college, 19, and I'd be nowhere without my art

Assuming you are doing this for colour matching purposes, you'll have a bitch of time matching those colours after especially if you are printing them from a home printer; that's why spot colours exist. I suggest you save yourself the time and splurge for a pantone swatch book.
    Design is not decoration.

Comment

If your working with an actual commercial printer you should be able to print out color swatches directly from the RIP.

Comment

Are you a designer?
        Or a printer?
        And why are you using Excel of all programs.....to sort out your numbers?
        Do you know how many combinations there are of CMYK and RGB?
        Do you know that incremental changes in values do not separate enough to be visibly different?
        And do you know each print machine will print those numbers differently on whatever media you are printing on? You don't profile for CMYK or RGB numbers. You take what plops out of the done end of the printer.
        And don't even think that whatever you see on your monitor or on your home inkjet is what you are going to get out of a professional print vendor.

If you are a printer, invest in a spectrometer and a good rip, and a full Pantone deck.
        If you are a designer, get the proper tools of the profession and rely on your print vendor to help you out.