Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

How to go about making important connections as a designer?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How to go about making important connections as a designer?

Hello everyone, I have been a designer for roughly 12 years now. My dream has always been to work in the skateboarding industry as the art on decks and in Thrasher mag got me interested in going to school for design way back in the early 90's. My question is how would one go about making these types of connections to essentially get a "foot in the door" in an industry such as this or the music industry? I have been ready and willing to share my designs with the world and yet I typically feel somewhat disappointed that in my tiny corner of the world I am basically not known. I have always wanted to change the world with my visions and art, I want to share them with the masses! I am on social media, I've created a "brand" for myself, I reach out everyday, all day across social media platforms to companies I'd like to work for, just to let them know my presence. So far, nothing much has happened. I would like to know how one would go about making the types of connections I am talking about. Music Industry, Skateboarding Industry, Mainstream Retail Industry. Where to start? Steps? Thanks for reading!

May be offer them some free work? New skateboard design, album cover, posters? may be then they will realize how good you are..! What you think?

Comment

• KitchWitch
      KitchWitch commented
      Editing a comment
      Never work for free. Your work is always worth something.

• PrintDriver
      PrintDriver commented
      Editing a comment
      No, no free offers. Not even for ''exposure and glory.''
      If your work brings in money (or clicks or foot traffic) for someone else, expect to be paid well for it.
      If your work doesn't bring in money (or clicks or foot traffic) for others, question why you are even in the industry to begin with.