Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Resources to start with

Hello there,

I have come here as I love graphic design and I dare to acknowledge Graphic Design as a creative domain in its own right. Creative endeavour and skills in digital software is key for success of any creative individual in this world, I believe.

Having said that, it may be surprising to hear that I finished my degree in Art and Design with multiple recognition awards without any serious knowledge of any computer software. This was the reason for me being lost when I graduated. I was creatively drained and disenchanted with my portfolio. I then went into teaching kids, which meant studying something completely different. Even thought I am proud of being able to make a difference in children’s life, there is something truly lacking in my life. I feel that I need to go back to creative work and that the way to start is learning adobe cloud software. Yes, I may become a digital designer if God wills .

Holding future in my hands, I have been literally a click away from purchasing the creative cloud for good half a year. I have also been looking into courses which may get me started. I wonder if getting creative cloud would be sufficient at this stage. I am unsure whether being able to use the software and view tutorials without having set briefs and feedback is the right start. The graphic design courses I found online, including a fast-track graphic design college, seem to be very expensive and lack credibility. Where do you suggest I should start?

Background of my work was based on colour theory, shapes, composition and subtle communication of the subject matter. Prior to this, I also learnt about typography. I graduated from a traditional art college at the age of 18, amongst other fairly irrelevant subjects I studies, I graduated with knowing how to write in several scripts (by hand!) and painted a poster!