Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Need help with how to quote catalog layout project?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Need help with how to quote catalog layout project?

I'm a new designer and I have the opportunity to design and layout a product catalog...problem is I'm not sure houw to quote this project. There is roughly 102 pages, full colour, artwork required, import of copy and digial images and reshoot of products. There is well over 200 hrs of work. What is the average time this project should take? Please help your assistance is greatly appreciated. Beside this could work to your benefit. If you have technical Mac issues let me know and I might be able to help you. Thanks.

Jen Fraser
    grlgrafx@rogers.com

If you need help with the work I can help. Technically 200 hours of work would set them back $15,000.

Comment

if you have an hourly rate, this is a good place to use it. figure out how much time it will take per page and multiply it by your rate. it might seem high, but you are spending a lot of time on this and should be compensated accordingly.
      Short Attention Gamer | UFClounge

Comment

I agree it is a good place to use your hourly, but often clients will want to set up a set fee rather than running it on the clock. The reason for this is becuase as you are getting so much business it helps them if you shave a bit off the top to allow for the large ammount of work. Keeps the insentives for repeat business, etc.
        I would say the project is easily 200 hours, if you are going to oversee all press and production. I just finished a 32 page catalog with product shots, layout etc, and this was at least a 65 hour project.
        Also, be careful to allow enough time for copy as this is often where a lot of time gets spent. If you need any more help with this email me at 3rdspace@insightbb.com

Comment