X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Ai Art Institutes

Who here has attended the art institutes and how do they compare to other schools? They just built the school here in my city.
    Last edited by Markasin3; 02-02-2010, 09:48 PM.

Took a course there, didn't really learn much. Really expensive too.

Comment

I can't speak for the individual schools themselves, but I am an online student. I have some experience and an overall good understanding of design. Many of the other students in my classes do not match up to my skill level, but I'm still in the first few classes (I only take two per semester, do to my work schedule). Even still, I've learned quite a bit. As with anything, you get out what you put in.

I can't recommend online learning for everyone, however. It takes a lot of discipline to do the work. I see a lot of my classmates who just don't seem to even care. I think many of them don't take it seriously because they aren't sitting in a classroom. I was home schooled for 9-12th grade (don't laugh!) so I think I have a natural ability to dedicate myself to learning, more or less, by myself.

I've noticed that most of the professors are very good at paying attention to each individual student. I, myself, have had a couple that have seemed to really focus on me, but again, that's mostly because I really give it everything I have.

Comment

Don't do it. I swear to god you'll regret it. Get a library card and use Google to get your education, with a little drive and some talent you'll do much better than if you were at AI.

Pick up Selling Graphic & Web Design by Sparkman. Get a ton of books like these and then just fill the holes as you go along.

Comment

Originally posted by Kid Tiger View Post
          Don't do it. I swear to god you'll regret it. Get a library card and use Google to get your education, with a little drive and some talent you'll do much better than if you were at AI.