X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Newbie Graphic Design - books

Im just starting out and im wondering where to start.. I want to do hip, glossy, fly bright colors.. similar to this http://www.mefdesigns.com

also where do I get books on text/typography like this guy designs???

Some say you start with layers... ?

Welcome to the forum, busdown. Please read THESE threads, which explain the forum rules and give some of our history. Enjoy your stay!

Also check out the Resources subforum. There's a ton of good suggestions there.
    This post is brought to you by the letter E and the number 9. Those are the buttons I push to get a Twix out of the candy machine.
    "I put my heart and my soul into my work, and have lost my mind in the process."

Comment

Originally posted by busdown View Post
      Im just starting out and im wondering where to start.. I want to do hip, glossy, fly bright colors.. similar to this http://www.mefdesigns.com

also where do I get books on text/typography like this guy designs???

Some say you start with layers... ?
      OMG My ear drums have just burst. DO NOT OPEN THIS LINK LATE AT NIGHT OR IN THE WORK PLACE.

About the work on his site,,..

Yes it looks nice and is full of bling, but what good is it to a shop that sells elegant clothes? or a dentist?

He has created him/her self a very specific target market.

To learn design you must open your mind to all types of design until you build a style and then can you pick the direction you want to bring your work.

Just type design, graphic design, learn graphic design, typography into the search box on amazon and you will find tons of books.

(EDIT)

Also unless that guys has paid to actully use any of them images " which I highly dought because he is selling them" then what he/she is doing is against the law.

Start with reading about copyright and intelectual property laws, every designer should know and understand them.