X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What Program to Use?

I'm a print designer. I have a client who wants me to design a 2-page newsletter. In the future, he wants to be able to update text/images himself. Odd request.

But what final program should be used. I have thought of designing in the normal programs (Quark, Illustrator, etc.), then import the PDF to Acrobat Pro. Then create "Form Fields" where the client can type in text.

Is that a good idea? What other program could be used. This client would only have access to the normal office programs (such as Powerpoint, Acrobat, Publisher, etc.).

I'd go with what you said. If he has acrobat pro he can do all that stuff himself.

Go with InDesign and not Quark though (my mission to turn designers away from that bloody software continues) IMO.
    Less marketing douchebaggery, MORE TANKS!

Comment

I never thought I'd catch myself saying this, but why not just build it in Publisher, then charge him/her extra for the additional services and time you'll need to spend on it?

Comment

I didn't expect such a quick response. Thank you! To <b>, I don't even have Publisher! (Is that crazy?) I would have to learn. Is it easy? Is that the way to go?

To "The Artist," can the client insert images in Acrobat Pro? I don't know much about Acrobat, other than I use it to pre-flight for my pdfs.

Comment

Originally posted by The Artist View Post
          I'd go with what you said. If he has acrobat pro he can do all that stuff himself.

Go with InDesign and not Quark though (my mission to turn designers away from that bloody software continues) IMO.
          Why no Quark? I love it!

Comment

The day quark dies will be a day of dancing!!
            *sings* "I am slowly going crazy 1.2.3.4.5.6. switch. Slowly crazy am I going 6.5.4.3.2.1. switch"

Comment

I still have it for the rare instance that I need to pry open some antiquated legacy file from a vendor/client/etc.