X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Which pen tablet should I get?

I'm thinking about asking for a pen tablet for Christmas, but I don't know much about them, so I don't know what kind to get. I looked at the Art of Wacom thread here and that made me want one even more! I've done research and read reviews and I'm mainly trying to decide between the Wacom Bamboo (Create?) and Intuos4. The Intuos apparently has more features and, what interests me most, tilt sensitivity, but it costs a lot more. Even though it's a gift, I don't want my dad to pay more than necessary.

So, what do you guys who use tablets think? Is the Intuos worth the extra buck? I'm kind of leaning toward that one. I'm just a student (and therefore don't really know what I'm doing, ha) so I kind of doubt I'll be using a lot of the extra features, but it sounds like it's the best for drawing, which is what I want to use it for.

What about size? Is the small one enough?

The big question is how much would you use it and do you need it to be intricate enough to justify the extra cost.

I bought a low end Wacom when I first got started (there's a bit of a learning curve with graphic tablets) and I found it wasn't big enough, so I upgraded to the intuos3. I do a lot of illustration with it, and am using to to put a book together.

Would your drawings benefit from the extra accuracy (remember you can always zoom in to get greater accuracy anyway) and do you need the tilt function? Would you find the size of a bamboo limited? I like to a large area to sketch in but you can achieve similar results by zooming in and working on a small area.

Comment

http://www.graphicdesignforum.com/fo...ad.php?t=63679