No announcement yet.

Places to buy hi-res brushes?

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Places to buy hi-res brushes?

I'm a graphic design student and am looking for recommendations about where to purchase affordable hi-resolution Photoshop brushes. I did a general Google search, but as you know, the search results mix sites for both paid brushes and free brushes, and wading through them is not fun. Most of the free "hi res" brushes are nothing of the sort.

Any of your favorite resources would be appreciated. I don't mind spending $10 or $15 on a brush set but right now, am not looking for those bundled sets that are several hundred dollars (even though they may be more economical in the long run!)

Thank you!

It depends on what you are going to do with those brushes. A lot of EULAs state you can use them free for personal stuff but for money-making adventures you have to pay up, and those pay rates vary. If it doesn't have an EULA, it's a dicey proposition.

Make your own?

Actually not hard to do at all. Then you get the resolution that you want.

Make a black/greyscale image.

Define brush

It's under the edit menu.

Then you can use the brush pallet to fine tune and save the final version from there.

deviantart has boatloads of them in the Resources section. Some aren't commercial-free but many are.

This looks like a good place to start...and they're free too ;-)
          I think you have to register, but they look Ok...
          Then again you can always make your own...

Is this a joke?
            I think Drazan answered your question.

hi sully, welcome to the forum. We have members of all different skill levels, and I think that's a legitimate question. The OP is asking for recommendations.

We ask all new members to read the threads posted HERE and HERE. They explain how the forum runs, the rules, frequently discussed topics and our inside jokes.