Sheet Music Copy Right

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Sheet Music Copy Right

So I ave an internship as a graphic designer at my college, and I make a lot of posters for stuff on campus.

One of my most recent assignments is for a concert, for some music I've never heard before. The music is a 7 piece...thing...called "Requiem" by Gabriel Faure. I want to use some of the music from each part and combine it in a stain glass type of design. But my main question is:

What are the rules/laws for using sheet music in a poster?
    I'm a sophomore in college, 19, and I'd be nowhere without my art

Gabriel Faure died 92 years ago, so he can no longer hold copyright on the music (if sheet music follows other copyright laws). So you would have to find out if anyone owns the rights to that requiem and if they allow use of the sheet music. I googled sheet music copyright law and got a bunch of results. You might try that.
    Shop smart. Shop S-Mart.

Comment

For what it's worth:
      http://imslp.org/wiki/Requiem,_Op.48...C3%A9,_Gabriel)

Comment

Hmmm.... that link isn't working.
        Use this search string: Requiem, Op.48 (Fauré, Gabriel) - IMSLP/Petrucci Music Library

Anyway, you really can't apply US copyright law to a piece written in France.
        Here is a Cornell University cheat sheet on copyright basics in chart form. Very helpful info.
        Opens a PDF.
        http://copyright.cornell.edu/resourc...yrightterm.pdf

Last edited by PrintDriver; 01-25-2017, 08:05 PM.

Comment

THANK YOU!!!
          I'm a sophomore in college, 19, and I'd be nowhere without my art

Comment

Search

Collapse

Sponsor

Collapse

Incredible Stock

Latest Topics

Collapse

• Clinton78
            One off off-set lithographic Print?
            Clinton78
            Hi guys,