Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Q+A Help

Hi all

I'm creating a Zine for a college brief for my Visual Communication HND and I'm also a freelance graphic designer in my spare time. I'm interested in getting some views from fellow graphic designers, mainly those currently out in the field but answers from students are just as welcome. My two questions are:

1) What was your perception or view of the life of a graphic designer before you got involved in the industry? I guess I'm asking what did you imagine it would be like doing graphic design as a career.

2) What is your perception or view now? If it actually different from what you envisaged.

Thanks for reading.

Kind regards

Mike

Hi Mike and welcome to GDF.

We ask all new members to read very important links here and here. These explain the rules, how the forum runs and a few inside jokes. No, you haven't done anything wrong, we ask every new member to read them. Your first few posts will be moderated, so don't panic if they don't show up immediately. Enjoy your stay.
    Shop smart. Shop S-Mart.

Comment

Originally posted by mikeoutro View Post
      1) What was your perception or view of the life of a graphic designer before you got involved in the industry? I guess I'm asking what did you imagine it would be like doing graphic design as a career.
      My perception was a field where I could be as creative as I wanted to be and enjoy my job every day.

2) What is your perception or view now? If it actually different from what you envisaged.
      An overpriced education for an under-paid profession, on its way to becoming a secondary skill, with way too much competition, and way too low expectations coming from most clients and consumers

Comment

I imagined making a shit-tonne of money.

If you're going to make a shit-tonne of money, you have to accomplish that by the time you hit 40.

Sketching not only helps you work out good ideas, it helps you get past the bad ones.

Comment