Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Student seeking advice about what to bring/have to show

Hello everyone,
    I'm in my final year at university for graphic design and I've been tasked with finding out from graphic designers in the field, what they themselves or the company they represent look for when hiring a Graphic designer.
    Is there anything I really should focus on? Physical/Online portfolio, leave behinds, my social presence FB/instagram etc? Or are there ways of getting a job that I should be trying? Calling, emailing first.
    I really appreciate every answer, thanks in advance!!

Hi Biscart and welcome to GDF.

We ask all new members to read very important links here and here. These explain the rules, how the forum runs and a few inside jokes. No, you haven't done anything wrong, we ask every new member to read them. Your first few posts will be moderated, so don't panic if they don't show up immediately. Enjoy your stay.
    Shop smart. Shop S-Mart.

Comment

This is just me, other people would be looking for different things...

- In general, I would be looking for someone who has done enough work that they have developed a personal style, and it's a style that I would be able to sell to my clients. For instance, I do a lot of work for marketing of outdoor recreation. Someone showed me a portfolio of futuristic designs with lots of chrome. It was nice and I'm sure he'll find work somewhere, but that isn't a style that would integrate well with the brands of my clients.

- Physical/online portfolio: Online is good to start, and I might look at 10 pieces or so. Physical portfolio would be good to bring to an interview because we can go through pieces and talk about your process. I wouldn't want it dropped off and left with me though.