Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Do graphic design job without degree

Hello everyone,
    I have been a Business student with a bachelor in International Business. However, lately I have found out that my true passion is design and I would die to work as a graphic designer (specially app design).
    So could anyone tell me if I can do this job without going to school (and just only having hands-on experience and certificates of Illustrator, Indesign,..)
    Thank you,

Hi Linhpt and welcome to GDF.

You can become a professional designer without a degree, but it's not likely. The field is over-saturated, hundreds of people applying for the same job openings. You would be competing with those people, most of which will have a degree.

We ask all new members to read very important links here and here. These explain the rules, how the forum runs and a few inside jokes. No, you haven't done anything wrong, we ask every new member to read them. Your first few posts will be moderated, so don't panic if they don't show up immediately. Enjoy your stay.
    Shop smart. Shop S-Mart.

Comment

As KitchWitch said, you can, but it's not likely you'll get too far.

At the time I got in it was less competitive and I fell into a niche section that is fairly invisible to the rest of the design world (newspapers).

I do have an AA degree in Graphic Design, but most of what I know I picked up because I had to on the job. Most people wouldn't consider an AA degree as counting either so there's that.

There's lots of little things to pick up when getting hands on experience. The problem is that you will miss them if you have no formal training.

It's the training that lets you recognize these things.
      Erik Youngren Pueblo Publishers, Composing Manager
      2.8Ghz Quad Core Intel Xeon Mac Pro | InDesign CS4 | Suitcase Fusion 5

Comment