Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

New to design and wondering what software is best and ways to learn about new trends

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New to design and wondering what software is best and ways to learn about new trends

Hey guys,

So, I am just starting out studying in the design field, so I am after a bit of advice from those a bit wiser.

Firstly, as a part of my course, I am using Photoshop, Illustrator, and InDesign, however, I was wondering if anyone out there used any other programs that may help in graphic design.

Secondly, what does everybody find the best way to follow trends is; is there magazines worth buying (keeping in mind, I live in Australia, which may make it a bit more difficult to come into contact with some magazines), or websites, or any other methods? Or do people just follow trends they pick up from day-to-day life?

Thanks for bearing with me guys, I haven't been studying for that long, so I am very new to the field, so I'm sure some of my questions may reflect my lack of knowledge.

Focus on the mainstay Adobewares and become super proficient in those before worrying about incidental programs that assist you with any particular job at hand. I do wide format work and there are a lot of plug-ins and peripheral programs that make my life easier but not necessarily yours.

As for ways to ''follow trends'' note that word ''follow''. You don't want to be following anything. Sure, stay tuned to the current marketing buzz, but don't let trends dictate your design. The one thing for sure about Trends? They End. Don't pigeonhole your client into a dead end.

Lots of magazines are online now. Sad for the publishing industry, but helpful to you in Australia.
    Which ones you look at depends on what niche of design you intend to focus on.

Comment

Hi Jacintamlh and welcome to GDF.