Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Books on Theories vs. Skillsshare courses!

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Books on Theories vs. Skillsshare courses!

Dear GDF members,

As a student I got limited access to paid resources in this country. People here prioritize academics and grades far more than Knowledge and other kinds of education such as graphic design.
    Hence, even if my family's financial situation is stable I can't convince my parents to buy me ample books on graphic design theories and/or a skillsshare membership easily.

There are local courses here with unreasonable prices since they only prioritize the technical skills overlooking the tactical aspects. Besides, I do have a decent amount of technical skills which I acquired from youtube. Therefore, I was wondering whether I should request (beg) my parents to spend on an annual skillsshare subscription (since there are videos on graphic design theories there) or buy a book on a graphic design theory (e.g. A book on Typography).

Thanks to you all for your advice in advance!!

Theory.

Knowing theory will give you more insight on what skills you want.
    I don't think I have ever spent much time on learning any step by step "how to" in Graphic design. Knowing what I want to accomplish or having a working knowledge of the style I want to achieve is MOSTLY sped up by having a fundamental understanding of color theory, dynamics, composition and style.

Keep Saturn in Saturnalia.

Comment

So which one would be a better option buying books or a skillsshare account???

Comment

This is going to sound like heresy, but in my 30-plus years in this profession, I've never bought into the learning design by means of studying "design theory" approach.