Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Dissertation, typography.

Hello,

I am a third year student in graphic design. I have the great pleasure (or pain) of writing a 5000 word dissertation. A but of background for this, I am 25 and never wanted to study as the dissertation is daunting especially with myself being amazingly bad with essays etc. So I need some help.

I am basing my dissertation around typograohy, however it is way to broad, I need to narrow it down but still cannot come up with a real topic to debate about.

Few considerations are
    Sustainability
    Branding with type
    Helvetica overused.
    And culture within typography

I have hit multiple books, journals, magazines and websites and still cannot come up with a decent question to really research into.

Anyone offer any suggestions as to the topics I can take on.

Apologies for the long post, but for some one who hates dissertations and has no idea where to start, i could do with some feedback.

Thank you

Hi General and welcome to GDF.

We ask all new members to read very important links here and here. These explain the rules, how the forum runs and a few inside jokes. No, you haven't done anything wrong, we ask every new member to read them. Your first few posts will be moderated, so don't panic if they don't show up immediately. Enjoy your stay.
    Shop smart. Shop S-Mart.

Comment

Apologies for the spell check error. A day of no sleep has driven me to errors.

Comment

What about the main point of typography?

How it makes us feel…

This is what I was taught that typography is all about. The fonts you choose, how you arrange them, and how you use them influence emotion. Why not talk about how typography does that?
        Erik Youngren • Pueblo Publishers, Composing Manager
        2.8Ghz Quad Core Intel Xeon Mac Pro | InDesign CS4 | Suitcase Fusion 5

Comment

Explain to me what typography has to do with sustainability.....

?