Logo Design Does Not Meet Standards

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Logo Design Does Not Meet Standards

So I recently started working for a company and due to emergency situations, I had to cookup a company logo from a jpeg file the company had. What I made and the company had are pretty similar and presented below:

Click image for larger version

Name:	Logo.jpg
Views:	4
Size:	45.6 KB
ID:	20913

Please realise that I am no professional graphics designer, yet even to me, this logo feels, well odd. Is there any ratio, design tips, ideas etc. to make this logo more pleasing to the eyec? What Have I (and the previous designer) got wrong? Thanks.
    P.S. This my first question here, I hope I am in the right forum!

Attached Files

Hi Jishan and welcome to GDF.

We ask all new members to read very important links here and here. These explain the rules, how the forum runs and a few inside jokes. No, you haven't done anything wrong, we ask every new member to read them. Your first few posts will be moderated, so don't panic if they don't show up immediately. Enjoy your stay.
    Shop smart. Shop S-Mart.

Comment

Well, for one thing, the colors will have to be different, but even if you had posted this in all-black, I'd have said this:

When a logo is text only, (which this is, for all intents and purposes), the personality of the font becomes the personality of the identity.

The personality of this font is . . . awkward.

So the logo looks awkward.

You might be able to make that font work if it was expertly kerned, or at least not tracked so loosely, or if there was some sort of weight variation introduced, but inescapably, it's pedestrian, monotone, uninteresting, unworthy, and a terrible choice.
      I'd rather be killed than come to your party, but if you don't invite me, I'll kill myself.

Comment