Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help with Logo and TM for Craftsman Jeweler

Hello all,

I'm not a graphic designer, but I've been around enough of you to know I have a problem and would appreciate some feedback. The line art for everything can be found here.

Background:

Our store is John Paul's Jewelers and I come from a long line of bench jewelers, or 'benchies'. "John Paul's" has a brand recognition as a craftsman jeweler, but not as a retail jeweler. Whenever we make something, we have to stamp it with a hallmark and a maker's mark. We basically sign our name next to the metal purity and it works a lot like a trademark. Our mark is a "J" merged with a "P" and has a good brand identity with customers, but is unidentifiable to the general public.

(maker's mark)

Goal:

People think of us when they want something made or fixed, but not to buy. I wanted people to think of us for everything. First me and my brother renovated an old bank and built some nice showcases so we had a real showroom. Then I redid the logo and started a new advertising campaign. FYI, "Jewelers" is superfluous. We are commonly known as "John Paul's".

(redesigned logo)
    Problem:

The logo and mark don't tie in with each other:

Click image for larger version

Name:	LogoAndTM.png
Views:	1
Size:	62.7 KB
ID:	21019

(logo + maker's mark)

It's really a problem with single color:

Name:	LogoAndTMBW.png
Size:	19.9 KB
ID:	21020

I'm trying to create a die for some watches, but can't find a single color version I'm happy with. The mark could be changed, but it would be difficult and there is a lot of loyalty built into it. The logo is a different story altogether. For most of our existence, we didn't have a logo so there's little visual recognition.

Any help is appreciated.

The mark you have should not be changed. Nor should it be covered up with other junk.
    Don't outline your font with skinny black lines.