Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Web developer logo

Hi

I am a freelance web developer looking to do a new logo for myself. Any suggestions / feedback on my ideas would be great.

Thanks

I'd use the straight-up-and-down Roman face rather than italics. which are mostly used for emphasis in body copy. When they're used like you've used them, they impart of sense of instability, leaning and tipping over. Unless the logo is suggestive of speed, movement or unless the slant angles match up with other slanted elements in the logo, I always stay away from using italics.

What is the dot before the J all about? It seems gratuitous.

Cyan, in my opinion, is a weak, sickly color to avoid. It's only useful purpose is being essential to CMYK printing. I feel the same way about magenta.

Making the logo all black except for the d makes the d stand out as being somehow different or more important than the other letters, but it isn't more important; it's just a d.

I don't really care for the combination of the W symbol with the logotype you've created. It's sort of like two separate logos that don't match each other. The W symbol is fine by itself (aside from not having an obvious B&W treatment). And the logotype is also fine by itself. But using them together just comes across to me as two stylistically different and clashing logos.

Comment

I think #2 is most successful. I actually like the "." -- I get it. And I'm a sucker for bright colors so that doesn't bother me. My brand colors are hot pink and black so you might not want to take my word for it. I can't really see -- is the tagline surrounded by two different bracket styles?