Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Portfolio Critique

Hello GDF,

It has been awhile since I've posted here, it feels good to be back, I've been working hard (hopefully it paid off). If anyone is willing to give my in-progress portfolio a critique. Currently there are only two projects up there, I've got more in the works, but I want to know if I'm on the right path or not before I put more up. A bit of background, I had been working as an art teacher and decided to make a career change to graphic design. I have a studio art degree and a masters in art ed. Any critique on my work would be greatly appreciated, I hope I've got what it takes to be a graphic designer, even if its going to be a long road.

www.chrisparenti.com

Try looking at your pub sign from across the room. Can you see what it says? Can you see what the shapes are trying to be? As an art teacher, I presume you know a little something about hierarchy. Both pieces need a fair amount of attention paid to hierarchy. When emphasis is put equally pn all the elements, you have no hierarchy.

Why do you have 1 gray, 1 gold/bronze and 2 blacks speced but use 1 black and 2 grays in your sign?
    Your menu has 2 typos in the first listing. That, as PrintDriver often says, would "bin" you immediately.

You cake card: Is the company called "Paper Wish" or The Paper Wish"? You have shown 2 different logos - one labeled "final" that does not make it onto your business card. Seems odd to work up a logo - and then use something completely different on your business card.

FYI: "Black and White" means Black and white only; no shades of gray.
    FYI: Specing web colors do not work for print or fabrication.

Could go on, but I have to run. Maybe others will chime in.

Sketching not only helps you work out good ideas, it helps you get past the bad ones.

Comment

Typos are a quick way to seal your fate. And unless your doing a newspaper spread, don't ever hyphenate.