Architecture book critique

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Architecture book critique

Hello GDF! I'm currently working on a university assignment and I'd like to know what you think about it.
    I'm an architecture student so beside a portfolio and A0/A1 panels I've never really focused on graphic design. Excuse me if I did something weird, hopefully you can tell me.
    The objective of the assignment is to make a book describing projects, there were no restrictions in terms of paper size or colors.
    My idea is to make a book that looks and feels like a notebook, a little size (A5 sheets) with few clear words: easy and fast to read. I've lowered the opacity of the images so that the text, spread like when you take fast notes, comes out.
    What do you think about it? Are images and texts still readable? Is the layout fine? Does it all work?
    The first page is the grid I'm using.
    Thanks!

Sample.pdf

My first reaction is your layout looks as though it was designed by an architect.

That's not a bad thing, it's just that most architects, I've noticed, tend to keep graphic design layouts very simple, well-proportioned, clean and logical. As a result, the layouts are almost always consistent with the Swiss or International Style, which is why, I suppose, architects gravitate toward that look.

Modern graphic design, however, isn't necessarily constrained to monochromatic color schemes and sans-serif typography. There's absolutely nothing wrong with keeping to the Bauhaus-inspired look in graphic design, but graphic design provides more latitude for playfulness, color, excitement and experimentation.

I'm not especially liking the typeface you've chosen. It's not a well balanced and proportioned sans-serif. I wouldn't head back to the all-too-often used Helvetica, but I would choose a typeface that's better designed.