Announcement

Collapse

Critical Announcement

With great regret, we would like to inform you that the decision has been made to close down www.GraphicDesignForum.com as of January 31, 2018.

The community has started www.GraphicDesignForum.org to continue the discussion.
See more
See less

Need my first poster critiсized

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Need my first poster critiсized

Click image for larger version

Name:	violence_poster_mid-01.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	72.8 KB
ID:	21750 Hi everyone! I am new to this forum but hope to stay long. Looking for some opinions about the picture attached. It meant to be a poster targeting the problem of violence against kids. I am quite new to the graphic design industry and feel that I need some professional critique. I feel that something is missing here, does it make any sense?

Hi Zaza and welcome to GDF.

We ask all new members to read very important links here and here. These explain the rules, how the forum runs and a few inside jokes. No, you haven't done anything wrong, we ask every new member to read them. Your first few posts will be moderated, so don't panic if they don't show up immediately. Enjoy your stay.
    Shop smart. Shop S-Mart.

Comment

I like the message you're trying to deliver. But i'm just not a fan of this layout.

The illustrations seem a bit crude. The type is painfully close to the illustration, not to mention running of the page. You need a healthy margin between the graphics and the type. I understand you haven't the room, which means the layout needs to change in some way. Maybe the two hands can meet in the center, the arms coming out from the left and right sides of the poster? This would leave plenty of room for typography. You can keep the art bottom justified, I do enjoy the A-symmetrical design and the negative space has an artist feel that works really well.

Also, do you think the black and white imagery might send the wrong message to some viewers?