X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• small family business - logo design critique

I am helping out my family's business (a bakery) by ramping up their advertising and online presence. I plan on launching a website and blog, creating ads for local print magazines/newspapers, as well as designing new business cards, t-shirts, delivery van decals, etc. First thing I need to do is decide on a logo and font combination for all of this.

Im not a graphic designer, I have no creative/artistic ability whatsoever, and my photoshop/illustrator skills are mediocre, so what I can accomplish is limited.

I guess I should briefly describe my reasons for choosing what I have chosen:

The cake slice logo fits with the business the bakery focuses primarily on cakes; birthday, wedding, etc. This logo was chosen by my parents in 1992 when they bought the bakery. I dont like how the icing looks like flames, and I dont like how the 2 dots on the left side touch the cake layers instead of being suspended in the icing. I tried to remedy the flames issue, but could not come up with anything decent looking.

As for the fonts, I chose "chunk" in all lowercase lettering because it is friendly and easy to read. I chose "marketing script" because the bakery itself has an old-timey/nostalgic feel to it, and was established in the 1950's, and I feel this font fits nicely with that aspect. I chose the "delicious" font because I needed a sans-serif font to balance the bold serif headline font, and also because I liked the idea of using a font named "delicious" for a bakery.

I kept it black and white for two reasons. One, I couldnt come up with anything else. Two, as far as I can tell, simpler usually equates to better when it comes to logos. The two colored options I threw in at the bottom were my sad attempts at creating something more interesting. I dont really think they work.