X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Recent graduate, fire away.

Hello everyone. I've been a long time lurker and occasional poster. I've recently uploaded my work to Behance. I'd appreciate any and all feedback. I graduated last May but I have yet to even land an interview. My professors/peers all seem to enjoy my work; but I don't know how honest they are.

http://be.net/jShunk/frame
    "I can't find the roman numerals in the Glyphs palette." - Classmate
    The statement that made Typography class an instant classic.

Well, I like your work too, but a lot of it is pieced together from other sources, like scanned magazine pages, etc. As much of an eye as it seems you have for design, your work on Behance hasn't really gotten past the student stage of experimentation and basic composition.

I review lots of portfolios and to be honest, your work looks promising, but still underdeveloped in the sense that it isn't obvious whether or not you could transition from a student environment to a full-blown professional situation doing real work for real clients. When I hire someone, even a novice, I'm really not looking for someone who has potential when there are other applicants whose work demonstrates more professional maturity.

If you had more pieces like your Grate Steak menu and logo it might help you. Much of your work is more fine artsy than commercial or, maybe, more centered around your compositional and artistic visions than about satisfying the commercial needs of a client. If I were you, I'd possibly concentrate on using your talents to tackle some realistic projects, like the menu or like a real brochure or a real magazine ad. They don't have to be from actual clients, but make them real in the sense of them being real ads or brochures that you might see in actual use somewhere.