Sketching

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Sketching

I have never had good handwriting. My x-height and ascenders and descenders are all over the place just to start. I can't draw a straight line or close my circles.

I have tried using my shoulder more for larger images and holding my pencil the 'correct way.' No matter how many lines or how many circles I practice I don't see improvement.

* Any tips? I have watched enough youtube videos to kill someone.
    * How do you use your shoulder in smaller areas? When I write for instance, which use simple shapes I can't help but use my wrist or fingers.
    * With the paper being upright it is easier, but most of the time we don't have that luxury.

Just curious what the gurus thought

What's your main motivation for good handwriting?

Would studying basic calligraphy or classic penmanship help you?

Not long ago, I decided I wanted to improve my handwriting. It was never terrible, but it wasn't wonderful. I studied a few scripts like Spencerian script and Palmer method to get a feel for how letters are formed.

Now I write shopping lists and telephone messages (in what I call) nice writing. It's not Spencerian or Palmer but that wasn't my intention. It's all down to practice, and for me, slowing down.

Personal preference...I like big descenders. Of course, there is such thing as too big.
    It is more fun to talk with someone who doesn't use long, difficult words but rather short, easy words like "What about lunch?" Winnie the Pooh

Comment

Sketching, handwriting and drawing are two different things, so what works in one might not work in another.