Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Graphic Drawing Tablet

Hello,

I'm curious about the graphic drawing tablets. I'm primarily self-taught and all along I've used the ordinary mouse. The effects in many cases are disasters as expected.

But in many youtube videos I see designers using the Graphic Drawing Tablets. Most of these videos are like the user os drawing on a the blank tablet and seeing the result on their monitors. I personally would miss seeing my hand on the canvas. There are very few videos where one can draw and see the effects in the same place. Something like this https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sVxsseJMT4s

I was just wondering if there's any such affordable tablet for a novice like me that would allow me to see my hand as I draw on the tablet, i.e., I'd prefer if the tablet behaves like an actual drawing board and a monitor. I've checked a lot and found that although cintiqs are the best and fits me, but its one heck of a pricy thing. Is there any other alternative that would be good for me?

And another question... Do novices like me get any freelance graphic design jobs?

Regards.

Graphic design and illustration are two different careers with different skill sets. While there are people who do both, it is not at all common. You should consider if you want to be a graphic designer or if you want to be an illustrator or if you really want to do both.

As for graphic tablets, it's just a tool. It's not going to make you a better illustrator. So, before you invest any money into this, can you draw? I mean in real life with pencil and paper?

If you can and want to go ahead, I would recommend a Wacom tablet. It's not like drawing on a screen, but it's much better than drawing with a mouse. You will get used to not drawing right on the canvas, I don't find it a big deal at all.