Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

What do I need to become an Illustrator?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What do I need to become an Illustrator?

I'm certified in Web & Graphic Design (ACE) but I have no professional experience.
    I think my strongest skill is in Adobe Illustrator. I'm ok at making logos and stuff like that. I'm not that good at drawing, and I want to practice sketching. I want to start doing Illustrations for children's books and stuff like that.
    So, I want to know what kind of pencils and paper should I buy so I can start doing sketches before I put it on adobe illustrator.
    Do I need a scanner? Once, I drew a picture and took a photo of it on my phone, and sent it to illustrator.
    Which scanner should I buy?

Hi Britniii and welcome to GDF.

Being good at Adobe Illustrator does not make you an illustrator. Sounds like you could benefit from some basic fine art courses - drawing, painting, sculpture, figure drawing. Not online, certification classes, but actual classes you attend. There is a lot in the fine arts that you can teach yourself, but you would be more successful if you had some mentored training. That's where I would begin if I wanted to focus on illustration.

We ask all new members to read very important links here and here. These explain the rules, how the forum runs and a few inside jokes. No, you haven't done anything wrong, we ask every new member to read them. Your first few posts will be moderated, so don't panic if they don't show up immediately. Enjoy your stay.
    Shop smart. Shop S-Mart.

Comment

You'll need a whole lot of paper, a lot of different types of paper in a lot of different sizes, a range of pencils, charcoal, inks, pens, nibs brushes and some watercolors and/or goache. Don't forget an assortment of erasers.

For sketching, just get newsprint and other cheap paper--get large pads (18X24) and small pads(4X6).