Managing line thickness regardless of pt size or font style

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Managing line thickness regardless of pt size or font style

I'm a jeweler, self taught in as far as graphic design goes, I do CAD/CAM with Rhino3d. When I come across a job that needs text I am usually stuck widening the lines by hand because there are physical limits to what will print/mill and cast (generally greater than .2mm). This process is far too time consuming.
    I am wondering if there is a program that does this. I don't want a general dilation of the entire font, just to widen the narrow parts to a minimum width, but maintain the style, spacing, size etc.

Hi CADJewelerPDX and welcome to GDF.

We ask all new members to read very important links here and here. These explain the rules, how the forum runs and a few inside jokes. No, you haven't done anything wrong, we ask every new member to read them. Your first few posts will be moderated, so don't panic if they don't show up immediately. Enjoy your stay.
    Shop smart. Shop S-Mart.

Comment

By widening the lines, are you referring to thickening up the strokes in the individual glyphs? If so, can't you just use bold versions of the typefaces while avoiding those typefaces with thin strokes?

Since that's the obvious answer to your question, I suspect you've already considered it. This leaves me thinking I've misunderstood your question.

Comment

That would be handy....
        This modern trend of using skinny fonts is driving me {more} insane with that little issue.

I know we're going to get responses like using Illustrators stroke width tool or outline the font but only use parts of the outline....
        It would be easier to make the adjustments in AutoCAD....But just as tedious.