Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Indesign Text: Opacity or grey color?

Hi,

This is in Indesign CS5.5. I want to make my text greyish, on a white background. Do I reduce the opacity, or set the color of the text to be grey?
    Is there a difference in quality or file size?(it is for a print job)

Thanks in advance,

ps.Sorry if the question is stupid/obvious, I am a student & new to the software.

Reducing the opacity makes it a transparency - which can cause hiccups in some press.

Best to set it as a Tint of black rather than dropping the opacity.

"May your hats fly as high as your dreams"Michael Scott

Comment

It should be noted there is a slight difference in quality, especial if the grey text is ultra thin. Your text will not be as crisp as it would be at 100% K because it will be made up of dots instead of solid colour. You could use a rich black but then miss-registration of colour can be an issue. If you are printing offset, I would suggest a pantone grey instead of using a transparency or tint.
      Design is not decoration.

Comment

Note that the way to set the text transparency separate from the text frame transparency is to use the Effects panel -- where fill, stroke, and text -- all have individual controls.

Comment

Originally posted by kemingMatters View Post
          If you are printing offset, I would suggest a pantone grey instead of using a transparency or tint.
          This. Pantone 424 is a great grey.
          This post is brought to you by the letter E and the number 9. Those are the buttons I push to get a Twix out of the candy machine.
          "I put my heart and my soul into my work, and have lost my mind in the process."

Comment